International treaties

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Woman (CEDAW)

On 18 December 1979, the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly. It entered into force as an international treaty on 3 September 1981.

The Convention has applied to Hong Kong since 14 October 1996, when the United Kingdom Government extended the Convention to the then dependent territory of Hong Kong. On 1 July 1997 the People's Republic of China resumed sovereignty over Hong Kong, from that date the Convention has continued to apply to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region pursuant to the assumption by the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China of obligations under the Convention in relation to Hong Kong.

The implementation of the Convention is monitored by the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), which consists of 23 independent experts.

At least every four years the States Parties are expected to submit a national report to the Committee indicating the measures they have adopted to give effect to the provisions of the Convention. During its sessions the Committee members discuss these reports with Government representatives and explore with them areas for further action by the specific country.

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights



International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights


Domestic legislation

[insert domestic legislation]




government policies



violence against women

[violence against women]


workplace equality

[workplace equality]


Human trafficking and prostitution


poverty in women

[insert poverty in women]